Codex vs Swytchcode CLI: How They Actually Differ
Codex suits builders who want an OpenAI GPT-5 coding agent that runs across terminal, IDE, and cloud with GitHub PR review. Swytchcode CLI suits builders wiring AI agents to over 2,000 APIs from terminal workflows with durable state.
Compiled 2026-10-19 from our catalogue entries for Codex and Swytchcode CLI.
The short answer
- Pick Codex if
- You want a single coding agent that moves between terminal, desktop, and cloud, runs on OpenAI's GPT-5 models, reviews GitHub pull requests, reads AGENTS.md, and may already be covered by a ChatGPT plan.
- Pick Swytchcode CLI if
- You want a command-line tool that gives AI coding agents access to over 2,000 APIs and durable state for reliable terminal-based workflows.
- Cheapest way in
- Codex has a Free plan at $0 per month. Swytchcode CLI's pricing is not recorded on file, so no entry price can be quoted.
- What we could not compare
- Swytchcode CLI has no recorded pricing, plans, or platforms. Codex is locked to OpenAI's GPT models and has fewer customization primitives than some rivals, per its listing.
Codex is OpenAI's agentic coding tool. The same agent runs in a terminal CLI, an IDE extension, a desktop app, and a cloud environment, so work started in one surface can carry into another. It reads the shared AGENTS.md file, supports MCP tools, and can post a cloud code review on a GitHub pull request that comments inline and proposes fixes. Codex runs on OpenAI's GPT models and is included with ChatGPT plans from Free up through Pro.
Swytchcode CLI is a command-line tool that gives AI coding agents access to over 2,000 APIs with durable state management. It is aimed at developers wiring agents to many APIs from terminal-based workflows. Two points to weigh: its pricing tier is not publicly disclosed, and although it is listed as a CLI tool, the platform field marks it as web, which may indicate browser-based rather than native terminal execution.
Side by side
Every cell is a field on our catalogue entry for that tool, copied as recorded. Rows where the two differ come first; blank fields say so rather than being filled in.
| Codex | Swytchcode CLI | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Freemium | Not recorded |
| Starts at | Free — $0 /month | Not recorded |
| Runs on | web, mac, win, linux, cli, vscode-ext | Not recorded |
| Category | AI Coding Agents | AI Coding Agents |
| Public source code | No public repo listed | No public repo listed |
| Public docs | Not listed | Not listed |
- Public source code: From the repository link on each catalogue entry, not a licence audit.
Where Codex is the better fit
- One agent runs across CLI, IDE, desktop, and cloud surfaces, with work moving between them.
- Cloud code review on GitHub pull requests that catches bugs and proposes fixes inline, plus reads AGENTS.md and supports MCP tools.
- Runs on OpenAI's GPT-5 models and is included with ChatGPT plans from the free tier through Pro.
Where Swytchcode CLI is the better fit
- Gives AI coding agents access to over 2,000 APIs from terminal-based workflows.
- Includes durable state management aimed at reliable agent operations.
- Ships as a command-line interface suited to terminal-first developers.
Which one should you pick?
It is included with ChatGPT plans starting at $0 per month, covers the four major surfaces, and handles GitHub PR review.
It lists access to over 2,000 APIs and adds durable state for reliable agent operations.
Codex is locked to OpenAI's GPT models, and Swytchcode CLI's platform coverage is not recorded, so neither confirms those models.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Codex run on non-OpenAI models?
- No. The listing says Codex is locked to OpenAI's GPT models — no Claude or Gemini out of the box.
- Does Codex have a free tier?
- Yes. The Free plan is listed at $0 per month, and Codex is included with ChatGPT plans from Free through Pro.
- How much does Swytchcode CLI cost?
- Pricing is not recorded on file. There are no verified plans listed.
- What platforms does Swytchcode CLI run on?
- Platforms are not recorded on file. The listing notes it is marked as a web platform despite being a CLI tool, which may indicate browser-based rather than native terminal execution.
- Does Swytchcode CLI handle GitHub pull request reviews?
- Not mentioned on file. That capability is only listed for Codex.
What we compared
This page states nothing that is not in the two catalogue entries below. The exact text used to write it is reproduced here so you can check our reading, and both tools link through to their own pages and to the vendor.
- /tools/codex — checked 2026-07-02 · official site
- /tools/swytchcode-cli — checked 2026-06-18 · official site
Show the source text
## Codex (/tools/codex) Tagline: OpenAI's coding agent — works in the terminal, IDE, and cloud, reviews GitHub pull requests, and runs on GPT-5 models. Category: AI Coding Agents Pricing model: freemium Starts at: Free — $0 /month Platforms: web, mac, win, linux, cli, vscode-ext Public repo: none listed Docs: none listed Verified plans (read 2026-08-21): Free $0 /month | Go $8 /month | Plus $20 /month | Pro 5x $100 /month | Pro 20x $200 /month | Business / Enterprise Not published | API Key Pay only for the tokens Codex uses, based on API pricing Strengths on file: Runs one agent across CLI, IDE, desktop, and cloud — work moves between surfaces.; Strong GitHub integration: a cloud code review on a pull request that catches real bugs and proposes fixes.; Reads the shared AGENTS.md standard and supports MCP tools.; Included with ChatGPT plans, from the free tier up through Pro. Limits on file: Locked to OpenAI's GPT models — no Claude or Gemini out of the box.; Fewer built-in customization primitives (hooks, sub-agents) than some rivals. Codex is OpenAI's agentic coding tool. It runs the same agent across a terminal CLI, an IDE extension, a desktop app, and a cloud environment, so work started in one surface can continue in another. It reads the shared AGENTS.md instructions file, speaks the Model Context Protocol (MCP), and can spin up a cloud code review on a GitHub pull request that comments inline and proposes fixes. Codex runs on OpenAI's GPT models — currently GPT-5.5 as the recommended frontier model — and is included with ChatGPT plans, from the free tier up through Pro. ## Swytchcode CLI (/tools/swytchcode-cli) Tagline: Give agents reliable access to 2,000+ APIs w/ durable state Category: AI Coding Agents Pricing model: not recorded Starts at: Not recorded Platforms: not recorded Public repo: none listed Docs: none listed Verified plans: none on file Strengths on file: Provides access to over 2,000 APIs for AI coding agents.; Includes durable state management for reliable agent operations.; Functions as a command-line interface for terminal-based workflows. Limits on file: Listed as a web platform despite being a CLI tool, which may indicate browser-based rather than native terminal execution. Swytchcode CLI is a command-line tool that gives AI coding agents access to over 2,000 APIs with durable state management. It fits developers wiring AI agents to many APIs from terminal-based workflows and wanting durable state for reliable agent operations. Two caveats: its pricing tier is not publicly disclosed, and although it is a CLI tool, the listing marks it as a web platform, which may indicate browser-based rather than native terminal execution.
Change log
- 2026-10-19 — First published, compiled from the catalogue entries for Codex and Swytchcode CLI.